Ear Pwr Ear Pwr


May 24th, 2011

Naturalistic allusion, everyday sentimentality, spattering live percussion and gauzy layers of rich electronics effortlessly meld in EAR PWR’s new self-titled release. A rebirthing in many ways, the group’s sophomore effort explores an expansive set of auditory contours and thematic depths left untouched by the pair in their 2009 debut. Intricate electronic compositions showcase an array of textures elicited from Devin Booze’s collection of homemade analog synthesizers and other equipment unique to the group, while Sarah Reynolds’ thoughtfully teased melodies and emotive notions are woven throughout their sonic topographies. Having relocated to the mountainous west of their native North Carolina, the pair has spent considerable time and effort honing a batch of songs with a sound that is both distinct and developmentally consistent with their project’s conceptual maturation over the last year and a half—resulting in a product that is as joyous as it is contemplative, equally sentimental and probing.

Buying Options


1. Mountain Home
2. Baby Houses
3. Melt
4. Gypsy Blood
5. National Parks
6. Lake
7. North Carolina
8. Feel It
9. Geodes
10. Your Life Is Important